The National Polytechnic University of Armenia (NPUA), the former State Engineering University of Armenia (SEUA), is the legal successor of Yerevan Polytechnic Institute which was founded in 1933 having only 2 departments and 107 students. The institute grew along with the Republic`s industrialization pace and in 1980-1985 reached its peak with about 25000 students and more than 65 majors becoming the largest higher education institution in Armenia.

On November 29, 1991, the Yerevan Polytechnic institute was reorganized and renamed into the State Engineering University of Armenia (SEUA). In 2005, by the Resolution of the RA Government the traditional name “Polytechnic” was returned to the University as an acronym.

The University has a central campus located in Yerevan and regional branch campuses in Gyumri, Vanadzor and Kapan.

Today, NPUA accomplishes 4 study programs of vocational, higher and post-higher professional education awarding Junior Specialist, Bachelor, Master and Researcher qualification degrees. Besides the degree programs the University also offers extension courses by means of its faculties and a network of life-long learning structures.

The specialization scope of the university includes all the main areas of engineering and technologies represented by specialties in Engineering, Industrial Economics, Engineering Management, Applied Mathematics and Physics.

NPUA has a leading role in reforms of the higher education system in Armenia. The University was the first Higher Educational Institution in RA that introduced two and then three level higher education systems, implemented the European Credit Transfer System (ECTS), in harmony with the requirements of the Bologna Process.

NPUA aspires to become an institution where the admission and the education  resources are accessible to diverse social and age groups of learners, to both local and international students, as well as to become an institution which is guided by global prospective and moving toward internationalization and European integration of its educational and research systems.